Skip to content ↓

The Federation of

Bursledon C of E (C) Infant & Bursledon (CA) Junior Schools


As governors, we are proud to be associated with the Federation of Bursledon Church of England Infant School and Bursledon Church Affiliated Junior School.  In order to support the federation in the best way possible, we have a clear focus on our three core strategic functions:

  • ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • holding the executive headteacher to account for the educational performance of the federation and the performance management of staff
  • overseeing the financial performance of the federation and making sure its money is well spent

We are committed to continuous improvement and lifelong learning for every member of the federation community.

The governors bring a mixture of expertise, with backgrounds ranging from the financial and business sectors, legal skills, education, the arts, healthcare, the church, local knowledge and experience, life skills, parenting skills and general family life. The experience provided by each governor complements the skills of the staff and the result is a very effective team.

As a body, we meet twice each term, with the two main committees (Finance and Resources, and Standards, Achievement and Inclusion) meeting five times a year. Other committees and working parties meet as necessary and we visit the schools regularly as part of our monitoring processes and also to share in celebrations and other special events.

A copy of the latest approved set of governing body minutes is available in the reception area of each school and other statutory documents and policies are available for inspection through either school office. A number are also available on the federation website. Governors are always very interested in hearing the views of parents and carers, the children, staff and the wider community and messages may be left for us at the reception desk in either school.  

The clerk to governors, Amy Hyde, may be contacted via either school office.Following a further reconstitution, there are 13 members of the governing body made up as follows


Mr M Parker

Mr G Nolan


Mrs H Bax 

Mr  J Pawson (Ex-Officio)

Mr A Milchard


                                        Mrs N Sowerby

                                         Mrs C Bishop

                                           Mr D Lewis

                                          Mr M Stanley


Miss V Chadwick     

Mr R Partridge (Acting Headteacher Infant School)

Mrs E Elliott (Acting Headteacher Junior School)

Local Authority Governor

Mr M White